Homemade Houmous

Finally checked this off my list of things I have to make! And so glad I tried it because homemade houmous is infinitely tastier than supermarket houmous. It’s so easy to make I can’t believe it took me this long to get round to it. This recipe is taken from the book Vegan on the Cheap - great book that I’d recommend to anyone trying to make tasty meals on a budget.

Ingredients (makes 4 portions, costs 40p/portion)

  • 400g can of chickpeas, drained (75p)
  • 2 garlic cloves (5p)
  • 1/3 cup of tahini (or 50g sesame seeds and a little oil – this is what I did) (50p)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cumin (5p)
  • pinch of cayenne pepper
  • 3 tablespoons lemon juice (15p)
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil (20p)

DSCF0865

1) First I made the tahini by putting the sesame seeds in a blender with oil. You can toast them first but I tried this for a few minutes and they burned too quickly so need some advice about that please!

DSCF0864

2. In a separate flask, blend the chickpeas, garlic, cumin, cayenne, salt

DSCF0867

3. Add in the tahini, lemon juice and oil. Can add more or less oil according to taste and texture preference. I used slightly less because I like a more solid houmous

DSCF0872

4. Keep in an airtight container in the fridge for 3 to 4 days.

DSCF0874

5. Eat with crudites, crackers, wraps or however you like!

DSC_0173

One response to “Homemade Houmous

  1. Reblogged this on Lord of the PLATE.

Leave a Reply

