Baba ganoush

This  has been on my list to-do for a while. It’s tasty but I must admit that it’s a lot of work for just a dip/spread so would probably only make it again if I had guests. I have never seen baba ganoush in shops so if you want to try it, it’s worth making it at home

Ingredients (makes 2 portions, costs 45p potion)

  • 1/2 tablespoon tahini (20p)
  • 1 small aubergine (45p)
  • 1 small garlic clove (5p)
  • Salt and pepper (5p)
  • Lemon juice (10p)
  • tablespoon of ground cumin (5p)

DSCF1034

 

1. Put the aubergine under the grill on a piece of tin foil. It will take about 20-40 minutes to blacken – keep an eye on it and turn it occasionally

DSCF1037

2. Leave to cool then peel the skin off

DSCF1039

3. Add the flesh to a blender with the peeled garlic, tahini, salt and pepper and a little olive oil

DSCF1042

 

4. Blitz the mix up until mixed but not too smooth. Stir in the cumin and lemon juice (both to taste)

DSCF1044

 

5. Serve with pitta and vegetables. Store in the fridge for a couple of days if you make enough.

DSCF1052

 

2 responses to “Baba ganoush

  1. This was also on my list of things still to do,…I still have 1 aubergine aka eggplant from my own plant so I want to use up in something like this! Thank you! MMMMMMMMMMM! X

  2. I made it with my last aubergine & it was divine, my friend! So gooodddddd! x

Leave a Reply

